Pizza My Heart

My favorite dinner is homemade pizza.   I know…I sound like my third grade brother, but it is just so delicious.  I have a couple different recipes I like, most of them I found on pinterest.

First the dough…I use the same dough for all the pizzas.  I got it from one of my favorite people, she is kind of like my adopted mom.

Here is her pizza dough recipe:

  • 1/4 c warm water
  • 1/2 t sugar
  • 1 T active dry yeast (or 1 package)
  • 3 c flour
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 t salt
  • 3/4 c cool water

Mix together warm water, sugar, and yeast.  Set aside.  Mix together flour, salt, olive oil, honey.  Put in the yeast mixture last.  Mix together, then add the water in a steady stream until mixture forms a ball.  Knead until smooth and elastic (or cheat and use a Kitchen Aid mixer with a dough hook…it is so easy!)  Place in a lightly greased bowl, turning to coat.  Cover with a towel and let rise.  I usually divide it up and freeze it in pieces big enough for one pizza.

Now…for toppings!  Some of my favorites are…

(click on the name for the recipe.)

Roasted Garlic, Pesto, Chicken Pizza – I learned to roast garlic for this recipe.  I always feel really chef-ish when I make it.

Roasted Eggplant, Tomato Pizza – Instead of using the olive oil that she uses, I make garlic butter.  Also, I rarely use fresh mozzarella.

Tomato-Basil Pizza – So Good…just for the record if you look at the recipe, I make it the pesto way.  I have tried this one with fresh mozzarella…good, but just as good with regular mozzarella.

At some point I want to try Steakhouse Pizza.  It looks so nummy!

P.S. Pizza My Heart is a pizza restaurant in California.  Good pizza…great t-shirts.

Leave a Reply

