Grilled Cheese with a Twist

My mom is a great cook.  Growing up we had lots of really great meals, but if we were running short on time or my dad was at work and my mom wanted to make a quick kid-approved meal, we had grilled cheese and tomato soup.  (We actually called it cracker soup. My sister and I both had a serious aversion to tomatoes and wouldn’t have eaten it if we had known that it was really called tomato soup.)  Okay, all this to say…I’m a fan of tomato soup and grilled cheese.

I recently found a recipe for grilled cheese with a mexican (or possibly tex-mex) twist and it is oh, so good!

Mexican Grilled Cheese:

(Here is the original recipe. The recipe below includes a few changes I made.)

  • 2 Slices of Texas Toast
  • 2-3 Tablespoons Butter
  • Healthy Pinch of Garlic Salt
  • 1 Heaping Teaspoon of Paprika
  • 1 Heaping Teaspoon of Chile Powder
  • Shredded Queso Cheese
  • Roasted Corn (I just through frozen corn in a pan on high so it browns/blackens a little.)
  • 1/2 Can of Diced Green Chiles
  • 1 Lime Wedge

Mix the butter and seasonings and use that to butter the bread.  Stack on the cheese, corn, chiles, and another layer of cheese.  Grill until melty!! (Make sure you use a lower temperature and/or a lid.  It takes a little bit longer for everything to heat up because the bread is thick.)  Once all is melted and delicious looking, squeeze the lime over the top!  Pair with Cambell’s tomato soup (use milk instead of water and add a tablespoon of sugar…you can thank me later) and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

