Having a Point…The Start of 101 in 1001

When I was a kid, my sister and I would listen to Adventures in Odyssey (a half-hour radio show put on to tape and cd.)  We would spend hours learning lessons from Whit, Connie, Eugene, and the whole Whit’s End gang.  The shows taught us about how to be a good friend and better human in general, it dramatized bible stories, and it taught us that how we live our lives makes a difference in the world, even as a kid; but most of all it was really entertaining.  When I say we listened to the show for hours…I literally mean hours.  I think at some point, both my sister and I couldn’t fall asleep without an episode playing.  If you listened to the show when you were a kid, I’m sure you know what I mean.  (If you didn’t stick with me anyway.)

Some of the lessons really stayed with me, but there was one that has come to mind more in the last couple months.  The episode was called “First Hand Experience.” One character decided to take a trip across the country.  He didn’t have a plan or a purpose, he just wanted to travel.  Another character points out to him that experience for experience sake isn’t usually very meaningful.  I think the message they were trying to get across is…in whatever you do, have a point.

All this to say…

I recently found this great trend on blogs called 101 in 1001.  It is a list of 101 things in 1001 days.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to do it.  Do I really want to have another list of pointless, random things to be accomplished?  Is that how I want to spend my life?  But 101 in 1001…it sounded so fun!  I have decided to jump in with one specific guideline in mind.  As I create the list of 101 things I want them each of them have a point.  Of course there are a few items that have already made the list that are just for fun or because they have been dreams many years in the making.  But for the most part, I tried to choose things that will help me become more like the person I would like to be.

I started the 1001 days on September 3, which means it will end on May 31, 2015.  My 101 in 1001 list is here, but it has its own link at the top of my blog.  I’ll update the page as the 1001 days go by and blog about some of the more interesting things here!  So…click over to the list…have a read…what do you think?

Leave a comment