My Fair Lady – My Own Fair Ending

I really like the musical “My Fair Lady.”  I watched it as a kid and loved the songs, the British-ness of it all and…oh…the dresses!  As an adult I watched it again, but very quickly decided that I hated the ending.  Eliza isn’t supposed to end up with the professor!  He’s grumpy and awful.  She is supposed to end up with Freddy!  (Sorry about the spoiler, but it came out in 1964.)

All that to say…I have officially changed when the movie ends.  Eliza leaves with Freddy and they go to the flower market.  She sings “Wouldn’t It Be Loverly” again and I end the movie.  Forget Professor Higgins…he can rot for all I care.  Eliza and Freddy go off and live happily ever after.

In honor of my own personal edit…

So, do you imagine any of your favorite movies with different endings?

P.S. How great is that hat!

2 thoughts on “My Fair Lady – My Own Fair Ending

Leave a Reply

