Bears, Big Books, and Storytime

Two of my storytime favorites, one newly discovered and the other I’ve known for a while.  The old…Big books.  I know they are just bigger versions of regular books, but I love to use them in storytimes!  The new favorite…storytime bear.  A couple weeks ago I borrowed Rico’s teddybear for a storytime about being sick.  The kids put felt band-aids on the bear to make him feel better.  Turns out…I really like having a stuffed animal storytime sidekick.

Storytime Bear

In acknowledgement of these two favorites storytime elements, this week I had a bear themed storytime featuring two excellent big books!  Thanks to Storytime Katie (one of my favorite storytime blogs) for the rhymes.

Opening Song: “Open Them, Shut Them” (As always!)

Big Book: “The Little Mouse, The Red Ripe Strawberry, and The Big Hungry Bear” by Don and Audrey Wood

.

Book: “Bear Feels Scared” by Karma Wilson

.

Rhyme: Where is Bear? (To the tune of Where is Thumbkin?)

Where is bear? Where is bear?

Here I am. Here I am.

How are you this winter?

Very tired, thank you.

Go to sleep.  Go to sleep.

As I said go to sleep I would make Storytime Bear lay down with his hands over his eyes. Then I would have the kids yell, “Wake Up Bear!”  The kids really enjoyed this and we did the rhyme several times.

.

Book: “Old Bear” by Kevin Henkes

.

Big Book: “Brown Bear, Brown Bear” by Eric Carle

We ended up reading this book twice at my younger storytime.  At the storytime with older kids, I didn’t even have to read the story…they read it to me!

Closing Song: “If You’re Happy and You Know It” – I like to mix up the third verse with something that links to the theme…this week we “gave a growl.”

.

.

The storytime for the older kids had a couple different books and an extra rhyme.

Books: “Tops and Bottoms” adapted by Janet Stevens

.

“Bear in the Air” by Susan Myers

.

Rhyme: Teddy Bear Action Rhyme

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, turn around.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, touch the ground.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, reach up high.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, touch the sky.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, touch your knees.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, sit down please.

This rhyme went exceedingly well with “Bear in the Air.

If you’re happy and you know it give a growl!

One thought on “Bears, Big Books, and Storytime

Leave a Reply

