Puppy Chow Plus a Twist

This summer, my family had a great big get together.  Family from Canada, Arkansas and good old Minnesota descended upon a small resort.

.

Okay, I make it sound like there were hundreds of us.  In reality, when all of us were there, we only totaled 15 people.  But amidst the family fun, I discovered a shocking secret.

.

Brace yourself…My sister and I were the only grandkids who knew what puppy chow was!

,

I know! It is just plain wrong!  I took it upon myself to remedy the situation immediately.  First things first, we made good old-fashioned Puppy Chow, or Muddy Buddies for those of you who like to use the incorrect name for things.

For those of you who suffer the same malady as my cousins…Read only as far as this first recipe and then go make your childhood complete.

.

Classic Puppy Chow

  • 9 Cups Rice Chex Cereal
  • 1/2 Cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1 Cup Chocolate Chips
  • 1 to 1 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar

Melt the peanut butter and chocolate in the microwave and mix well.  Pour over cereal.  If you have a big bowl with a lid, use it!  Put that lid on and shake.  If you don’t have a lid do your best with stirring.  Once the cereal is pretty evenly covered, pour in the powdered sugar and repeat the shaking until everything is covered.  When I say everything, you probably think I mean the cereal, but let’s be honest…unless you are a lid ninja, there will be powdered sugar on at least three surfaces you didn’t mean it to be on.

Now here is the hard part.  Don’t eat it yet.  Put it in the freezer until it is cold.  I don’t know how long this actually takes because I have never really waited until it is all cold.  But wait as long as you can…it really is better chilly.

One last confession…I almost always add more peanut butter and chocolate than is the original recipe.

.

The night after I had introduced my family to the deliciousness of good ole’ fashioned Puppy Chow, I decided to try out a new twist: Cake Batter Puppy Chow.

.

Cake Batter Puppy Chow

  • 9 Cups Rice Chex Cereal
  • 2 Tablespoons Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1 1/2 Cups Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 – 1 Cup of White Cake Mix

Follow the directions of classic puppy chow with the one small difference of mixing in both the powdered sugar and cake mix.  No need to mix them together first, just don’t forget to add them one or the other.   If you want to add a little splash of color…use Funfetti cake mix or shake in some sprinkles of your own.

Everyone in my family liked the cake batter twist better than classic, everyone except me.  I guess I am a traditionalist.

(Also, I tried to find the original pin I got the recipe from, but my search came up with every variation of the recipe, except the one I used. If this is your recipe, give me a shout or you know…a comment since I probably won’t hear you all the way over here.)

.

I am a pretty exact-measure-always-follow-the-recipe kind of cook.  There are very few things where I just wing it, but puppy chow is one of those things.  Unless you burn your chocolate or forget to attach the lid before you shake the bowl, puppy chow is hard to screw up.  (P.S. I have done both those things.) So, even the most Type A personality among us can play a little!

.

For a little bonus…here are a couple more variations on the puppy chow theme:

  • Poppy Chow: When you are out of cereal, but need that chocolate/peanut butter fix…try using popcorn!
  • Lemon Puppy Chow: Sounds like this would be a delicious summer treat!  Cold from the freezer with a little zip of lemon.
  • Snickerdoodle Puppy Chow: A hint of cinnamon…sounds good to me.  Maybe with a cup of coffee in the fall?
  • Chocolate Caramel Apple Puppy Chow: Click the link, look at the picture and tell me it doesn’t look delicious and a little bit dangerous.

Disclaimer…I have only tried the Poppy Chow recipe out of the four.  If you try one of the others let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

